I cook because I have nothing better to do

The title is a pretty true statement at the moment, and I even have a photo album on Facebook with the same title.  It’s not that I dislike cooking (although I MUCH prefer baking, and eating such baked goods) but while I was in NYC, I really didn’t have the space, utensils, or desire to accumulate large amounts of ingredients, so I stuck to the basics.  I pretty much lived off of canned goods (cheap, student food), or the poverty diet, as some may refer to it.  Lovingly, I’m sure.  But, I swear I made very tasty things from those cans.  Beans (any kind), crushed tomatoes (Basil & Garlic were the best), meat if I had any, and some veggies.  Usually the veggies consisted of frozen spinach. I used to put it in everything!  Healthy, balanced, what more do you need?

BUT, back to my point 🙂  Now that I’m home and have a huge, fully-stocked kitchen, and a lot of time on my hands, I want to cook and bake.  And I’m now trying to challenge myself to make things I had never even thought about making before.  As I make more and more things, I’m getting more ideas of challenges I’d like to take on and it’s fun!

I really do have to start working eventually, but until then, I’ll be in the kitchen!  Before I decided to start the blog, I made a few yummy things that I want to share now.  First, is my Butternut Squash Pizza that I cooked on the grill.

We go the pizza dough from a local pizza place and reshaped it into smaller, quite rustic looking, pizzas.  I completely experimented with the Butternut Squash Puree.  Onion, garlic, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, pepper, cumin…I don’t really measure, and I didn’t write it down, unfortunately.  I do believe in tasting as you go, and that’s what I did.  I played with this for a long time in order to get the right balance of sweet and savory.  For toppings we had bacon, italian sausage, fresh mozzarella (well, as fresh as I could get in Walmart…), roasted corn, and green peppers.

The inspiration for this creation came from a trip to the Arthur Avenue Little Italy in the Bronx,NY.  We hit a local restaurant for lunch and had a coal oven-baked pizza with butternut squash puree, smoked mozzzarella, and pancetta.  We were in love instantly!

While discussing my applesauce recipe, I believe I mentioned that we had an abundance of plums in our house for awhile.  After pizza, we had Plum Upside Down Cake for dessert.  I had never made an upside down cake, nor have I ever wanted to make one, but this was delicious and SO pretty!  It was also pretty easy, expect for having to scrape off all of the plum sugary goodness that got stuck in the pan and attempting to replace it perfectly back on the cake.

I cannot remember the source of my recipe, but I just googled plum recipes and found it.  Honestly,there weren’t that many plum upside down cake recipes, so I have faith you can find it if interested. 🙂  I’m still learning how to work this thing, which explains why the cake picutre is up with the pizza pics when I wanted it down here.  Learn as you go, I suppose!  Enjoy your evening!!

About Stacy

Hi, I'm the Plant-Based Princess! After spending years eating a normal American Diet, I have decided to change my habits and my life for the better. I try to eat healthy, plant-based foods and am always trying to create delicious food in my kitchen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I cook because I have nothing better to do

  1. Gina says:

    I love getting inspiration from meals that I have in restaurants. It’s fun to try and re-create something…trying to get all the spices right!!! I wish you were closer so we could cook together!!!

Leave a Reply

