Wild Grapes and Granola

But not together.

My dad brought home some wild grapes that he picked just outside of town and told me I should do something with them…or just eat them.  I’m not sure that I have ever had a wild grape before and they’re pretty sour, but also slightly addictive.  They’re more jelly-like than I’m used to for grapes, but the flavor was so fresh it made me think, “this is what a grape is supposed to taste like.”  And, honestly, they reminded me of a grape Jolly Rancher or similar candy, more than the grapes I usually buy from the store.

I found a blog post about Wild Grapes and there was a recipe for jelly.  I knew I didn’t have the patience for that so I went with the alternative recipe, grape syrup.  I took the grapes of their stems, put them in a pot with some water, and cooked them until they burst.

I then strained the grapes to get the juice into another pan.  I then added about 1/2 sugar and let it cook for about 20-30 more minutes until somewhat thick.  As I was making the syrup, I was still unsure of what exactly I was going to do with it.  What goes well with tart grape??  My first thought was peanut butter, obviously.  I also thought about one of my favorite brunch meals ever, Pumpkin Pancakes with Cranberry Maple Syrup ( a la Blue Water Grill in NYC) and thought that mixing this syrup with some natural maple syrup would work really well.  So, I made up some pancakes (from a mix, as I had spent enough time in the kitchen today to do it from scratch) spread some peanut butter between the 2 pancakes, and put a little on top, then poured on the grape/maple syrup.  Pretty delicious, I must say.  Then again, I had been tasting the grapes/juice/syrup all day, throughout all of the stages because I literally could not get enough, so however the result ended up, I knew I wasn’t going to hate it.

End Result: PB Pancakes with Wild Grape/Maple Syrup

These were good as they were, but my mom and I both added more syrup to get the grape flavor.  Then, we each had one more small pancake with just the syrup.  Yeah, the syrup was the star of this dish, for sure.  Even though my dad was only able to find a small amount of grapes, I was happy with how much syrup I was able to make.  I refrigerated the rest and will definitely be using it in the near future.  I could barely deal with wasting the non-juice part of the grapes so I don’t see myself letting this deliciousness go uneaten.  If you can get your hands on some Wild (or Fox) Grapes, I highly recommend you trying them.  They have seeds and a weird texture, but the flavor is worth it.

On to other things, my grandma was joining us for dinner last night so I wanted to come up with a dessert.  I threw a few apples in a pan with some water, lemon juice, sugar, brown sugar, and a little butter, and just let it cook.  Ended up being a yummy cross between applesauce and apple pie filling.  Instead of topping it with ice cream, which I really wanted to do, I decided to attempt making homemade granola.  I looked at some blogs for inspriation and came up with my own recipe.  I really should have followed a tested recipe, since mine ended up burning.  I think I was baking it too high (350) and hadn’t added enough oil/moisture.  I’ll definitely try this again, since even my recipe-less granola wasn’t half-bad.

Now that my belly’s full of pancakes, I’m going to spend the rest of this cold and rainy evening snuggled up watching good Monday night TV!

About Stacy

Hi, I'm the Plant-Based Princess! After spending years eating a normal American Diet, I have decided to change my habits and my life for the better. I try to eat healthy, plant-based foods and am always trying to create delicious food in my kitchen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wild Grapes and Granola

  1. Gina says:

    Try cooking it in a big metal bowl…that way it doesn’t burn…you just have to stir every 15 minutes or so. I like this recipe in KERF…it’s what I typically make! It’s super crunchy and really good on yogurt/berry bowls.
    http://www.katheats.com/recipage?recipe_id=6000296

Leave a Reply

